Weeks Six and Seven: Diversions & MSF

In the week after the Etape my legs weren’t up to doing very much at all.  They weren’t sore really, just seemed to have no power.  Trying some laps of Arthur’s Seat on my bike I really struggled on the hills.  So I listened to my body and took it easy for a bit.

photo (7)

Which gave me some time to invest in the latest claim on my time: my new allotment!  I had just been thinking about how I was going to incorporate some weight training into my schedule, as I’m not a member of a gym, when along came this perfect opportunity in early May: digging over a 20 by 10 m plot covered in weeds!  The plot has a lot of ‘potential’, and is on an allotment site with lots of friendly and helpful allotmenteers with way more experience than me.  They’ve already given me some rhubarb for cooking, some broccoli, cabbage and brussel sprout seedlings, and more advice than I know what to do with.  And I’ve been living off the tastiest Charlotte potatoes – left in the ground by the old boy who used to have the plot.  So far – with much help from my parents – I’ve planted red onions, white onions, petit pois, peas, potatoes, parsnips, beetroot, cauliflowers, broccoli, cabbage, brussel sprouts and leeks.  I’m really enjoying being an intrepid allotmenteer, although am unsure where I’m going to find the time to train, work, eat, sleep, tend lots of needy plants (I can hardly look after myself), and keep on top of life’s chores.  Will let you know when I’ve figured it out.

The training lull also gave me a chance to set up my fundraising page: https://www.justgiving.com/Elizabeth-Richardson.  My intention had always been to raise money for Medecins Sans Frontieres – partly because they’re a great charity that I’ve supported for a number of years, but also, I must admit, because this is more likely to motivate me through the training and the race than if it was purely about my own personal challenge (I can get quite lazy and defeatist at times).  Knowing that people have sponsored me will be the motivation that gets me started on the half marathon when I’m already exhausted from the swim and the cycle.

I’m raising money for Medecins Sans Frontieres because their vital work helps provide medical aid for people caught up in natural and manmade disasters.  I’m in awe of the amazing work they do, and hope I can help a little by raising some money. In 2005 I ran the Bristol Half Marathon for MSF, so thought I should up the stakes a little this time. So why not add a 1.2 mile lake swim and a 56 mile cycle through hilly Perthshire before starting the half marathon (13.1 miles)? Perfect.

So please visit my fundraising page and dig deep: you can even gift aid your donation to make it more valuable to MSF at no extra cost to you.  Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

